The Marist High School Department has formally elected its new set of officers for both Junior High and Senior High for School Year 2021-2022 for the first time under the Marist VIOLETS Program.

MSCB-Junior High School Elections

The official launch of the campaign of the Marist School Coordinating Body – Junior High School (MSCB-JHS) elections were held last September, with two parties running for the open positions of the student council: ALAB (Alyansa ng mga Maristang may Layunin at Abilidad na tumulong sa gitna ng Bagong kapanahunan) and AKBAY MARISTA (Alyansang Kikilos at mag Bibigay Aksyon sa bagong Yugto ng mga Marista).

The candidates of ALAB are the following: Aaron John Camposano as President, Angelo Miguel Lizardo as Vice President, Elijah Gagarin as Secretary, Gabiel John Enorme as Treasurer, and Marcus Andrei Guevarra as Public Relations Officer. 

Meanwhile, the candidates of AKBAY MARISTA are the following, Ethan Sese as President, David Lumba as Vice President,  Joshua Gabriel Dela Paz as Secretary,  Piolo Cereno as Treasurer, and John Liue Bibe as Public Relations Officer. 

Students from the Junior High School voted online via Google Forms in the elections which was held on September 29.

ALAB dominated the MSCB-JHS Elections, capturing three of the five student council positions up for grabs. Camposano was elected President (357 votes), Lizardo was elected Vice President (423 votes), Gagarin was elected Secretary (396 votes), Sereno was elected Treasurer (373 votes), and Bibe was elected Public Relations Officer (357 votes) (405 votes).

MSCB-Senior High School Elections

The Marist School Coordinating Body-Senior High School (MSCB-SHS) election campaign took place in November, with two student parties competing for each vacant student council position.

AKMA (Aksyon Marista) is composed of the following candidates: Kian Arboleda as President, Zyrus Ramos as Vice President, Kenneth Canque as Secretary, Williamson Chua as Treasurer, Nathaniel Barez as Public Relations Officer, Alfonzo Bitong as ABM Representative, Luis Abuel as Arts and Design Representative, Shamira Arguelles as HUMSS Representative, and Eunlescender Padpad as STEM Representative. 

Meanwhile, running for ADLAW (Alyansang may Direksyon at Layuning Aksyunan at Wakasan ang hamon ng mga Marista) are the following candidates: Isaiah Salalila as President, Matthew Clemente as Vice President, Ken Drake Santos as Secretary, Ishko Gonzaga as Treasurer, Christian Caballero as Public Relations Officer, Zach Nepomuceno as ABM Representative, Eljen Cruz as Arts and Design Representative, Louis Andrew Malong as HUMSS Representative, and Duke Jairus Lubrin as STEM Representative. 

Students from the Senior High School voted online via Google Forms in the elections held on November 29. 

Mrs. Charisse Guevarra, the assistant principal of Cluster 3, announced the winners through a post in the Homeroom class of Google Classroom on the same day as the elections. Emmanuel Balocating, the COMELEC chairman, also made the announcement of winners during the following week’s cluster assembly.

The winners of the elections are the following:

Arboleda for President (300 votes), Ramos for Vice President (277 votes), Kenneth Canque for Secretary (283 votes), Williamson Chua for Treasurer (296 votes), Nathaniel Barez for P.R.O. (274 votes), Nepomuceno for ABM Representative (35 votes), Abuel for Arts and Design Representative (19 votes), Arguelles for HUMSS Representative (31 votes), and Lubrin for STEM Representative (118 votes). 

The winning candidates in both elections are scheduled to take their oaths in the coming weeks.

With the election of MSCB officers for the Junior High and Senior High School Department, the officers are brought into the positions by Maristas with hopes of effective and honest governance to the two student bodies. The recent elections are a symbol of respect for the democratic process of electing representatives in the institutions, as well as a means of exercising the right to vote. Jean Matienzo and Miguel Bulot

Leave a Reply